Watch out for that Camry

So I was all prepared to write about how I was feeling much better about my MTB Nationals experience, how everyone needs to go next year, how it is so great that it is local, and all kinds of warm fuzzy feelings. But then I got hit by a car on Thursday morning. Needless to say, I was a little upset about that and it changed my week around a bit.

My Broken ColnagoLuckily, I only had minor injuries, but my bike was ripped into pieces. I’m not exaggerating about that. I would count the number of pieces but I don’t think I can since some are likely missing.  My co-worker who picked me up from the accident informed me that one piece was at least 25 feet away. Thankfully, I fared better than the bike. But the bike is a scary reminder of just how powerful a car can be.

So the story. I was riding the W&OD bike trail for an easy ride and crossing at Sterling Blvd, which is a 4 lane crossing with a median in the middle and a very well marked crosswalk. A truck stopped for me in the lane closest to me and waved me on. There was not much traffic, and I clearly saw that he pulled up by himself. Since he was the only person I saw on the road, I crossed. When I got to the second lane I saw a Toyota Camry coming at me. It wasn’t slowing down, and it wasn’t trying to stop. It was too late to do anything other than try to get across the lane. As I exited the lane, the car slammed into my back wheel and I hit the ground head/face first.

I jumped up instantly, shocked and angry. The I saw my bike and I could barely comprehend the carnage that had befallen my beautiful friend. My Colnago CX-1 that could be spotted in the 2010 Tour de France was no longer. The official word so far from the mechanic who is to perform the autopsy is “maybe the brake pads are still good.”

Driving up to PA last weekend, I told my husband that I thought driving on I-95 must be one of the most dangerous things a person can do. Now I think it is riding on the W&OD bike trail. In the past 3 years I have been hit by two cars. Both times in extremely well-marked crosswalks. Both times after stopping and waiting to make sure it was “safe.” The scariest part is how much worse it would have been if she hit more than my back wheel. I try not to think about that.

I spent a few days sulking in a “why me?” state. Even though I knew how lucky I was to be alive and mostly well, having a potentially life-threatening experience is a little freaky. I do kind of wonder how long I can continue to use the “I got hit by a car on Thursday” excuse. The good news is that root canals hurt less than slamming your face into the ground. Good thing because I need another one.

4 thoughts on “Watch out for that Camry

  1. I am so so glad that you are OK, but it is painful to look at that photo of that bike – thank goodness the car only got your back wheel – terrible to see such a gorgeous bike in pieces 😦 I hope the woman who hit you will forever be careful when she comes upon crosswalks, especially when all other lanes of traffic are stopped and it is clear that someone is crossing the road!

  2. Pingback: The Road to Recovery | Tribulations of theTrail

Leave a Reply

