2013 Season, I am Ready!

I’m not big on New Year’s resolutions (good thing since it is February), but the new year happens to coincide with planning for the 2013 race season, and I have been doing a lot of that lately. Since plenty of other people seem to be posting on their goals and insights for the upcoming season, I thought why not join in on the fun? That will also give my competition a nice way to keep tabs on me.

Last year was kind of a figure-stuff-out year of racing. I figured out that I don’t really like road racing. However, with more time spent practicing road racing skills, I think I could like it very much. It is unlikely that I will find that time. I figured out that I like technical rocky mountain bike courses. That was a surprise! And of course, I figured out that cyclocross might be the best thing in the world.

So I have that all figured out.

But then comes the actual racing part. I got my Cat 1 mountain license early in 2012 and did sort of okay in some races. Then I finished off my ‘cross season with a Cat 2 upgrade at my last race of the season. Suddenly I am finding myself right in the middle of a whole new level of bike racing. Yikes.

So that means, it is time to get serious. Serious and motivated. And I AM seriously motivated. In all my planning, I have come up with some areas to help me improve this season.

  • Hire a coach and do everything she says: After debating it for years, I have finally hired a coach. After about one day I thought my legs would fall off  my body and rot away into nothing. This made me realize that maybe I have not been working as hard as I thought. It has been almost 4 weeks now with Sharon Adams, owner of Rising Sun Fitness, and I LOVE IT.
  • Get better at mountain biking: I generally rely on my fitness in mountain bike races and not my skills. Spending less time getting off my bike and more time riding over stuff is a pretty obvious way to get faster.
  • Have a race plan and stick to it: No more willy-nilly race planning, day-of decisions, and signing up for more races than I can really handle. I currently have a race plan that goes  until the end of July. Not only do I have a plan, but I have goals for every race thanks to my coach. Goals that are more specific than “not be last.” 
  • Learn how to remount my ‘cross bike without looking like an idiot: If I can’t do this, I WILL be lit on fire and thrown off a cliff in the Elite race. No doubt about that.
  • Have confidence: I lack this in bike racing for some reason, but it is oh so important.
  • Don’t worry about other people: I spend a lot of time worrying about what other people think and what other people are doing. I spend a lot of time worrying about how well I fit in on my team and whether or not people like me. Adult life is starting to remind me of high school. I am 30 years old and need to be spending my time worrying about more important things. Things like, do I really need a full-length ball gown for this up coming wedding I am going to? Oh life is so hard!

So those are all my secrets for this season. Deep stuff.

4 thoughts on “2013 Season, I am Ready!

Leave a Reply

